All comparisons
Facts checked on 23 September 2026

Open Exchange Rates alternative: Rate-API vs Open Exchange Rates

Open Exchange Rates has run since 2011. Its free plan gives 1,000 requests a month with hourly updates and a USD base, and its paid plans reach 5-minute updates, with faster VIP tiers above them. This page sets its published plans next to Rate-API’s, says where it is the better choice, and maps its requests to Rate-API’s.

Rate-API vs Open Exchange Rates at a glance

“Not stated” means Open Exchange Rates’s own pages don’t say, so we don’t guess.

FeatureRate-APIOpen Exchange Rates
Currencies166“Over 200” stated. Its currencies.json returned 173 standard codes (195 with alternative rates) on 23 September 2026
API key requiredYes. The free key needs no cardYes (App ID). No card needed to sign up
Free plan: requests a month2,5001,000
Free plan: update frequencySources are checked every hour on every plan. The ECB reference rates behind the major currencies are published once per working dayHourly
Free plan: choose the base currencyYes, with ?base=No (USD only)
Free plan: historical ratesNo (Pro and up)Yes (daily historical data)
Free plan: HTTPSYesYes (the API is served over HTTPS)
Free plan: commercial useYes, inside your own product, on every plan. The terms do not allow redistributing the data as a feedMeant for personal, small-scale and open-source use. Commercial apps are asked to use a paid plan
Free plan: supportBasic email supportLimited tech support
Historical dataPro and up: daily rates back to 1999 for the currencies the ECB quotes (about 30); shorter history for the rest. Business and Enterprise: /timeseries and /fluctuation cover up to 366 days in one callEnd-of-day rates back to 1 January 1999. Time-series requests of up to one month each on the Enterprise and Unlimited plans
Amount conversion/convert on Pro and up. /pair returns the rate on every plan/convert on the Unlimited plan only
Per-minute rate limitFree 10, Pro 100, Business 1,000, Enterprise 1,000 requests a minuteNot stated
Response formatsJSON, XML and CSV (?format=)JSON, with JSONP callbacks
AuthenticationKey in the URL path, an Authorization: Bearer header, or an X-API-Key headerApp ID in the query string, or an Authorization: Token header
Crypto and precious metals35 tracked cryptocurrencies, plus gold, silver, platinum and palladium (Pro and up)BTC, plus gold, silver, platinum and palladium (XAU, XAG, XPT, XPD)
Endpoints and toolingPHP, JavaScript and Python SDKs; an MCP server; OpenAPI 3.0 and 2.0 specs; a Postman collection“Over 200 open source libraries and plugins”, including money.js and accounting.js; usage.json quota endpoint
Uptime and statusNo uptime guarantee. Live status page and a public /health endpointAt least 99.9% since monitoring began (FAQ). An uptime SLA is offered on VIP
Data sourcesEuropean Central Bank reference rates for the major currencies; public-domain data for the restNot disclosed, apart from BTC (CoinDesk Bitcoin Price Index)

Paid plans

Rate-API

PlanPriceRequests a monthUpdates
Pro$10/month or $100/year40,000Hourly source checks, as on Free
Business$30/month or $300/year150,000Hourly source checks, as on Free
Enterprise$99/month or $990/year2,500,000Hourly source checks, as on Free

Open Exchange Rates

PlanPriceRequests a monthUpdates
Developer$12/month or $120/year10,000Hourly
Enterprise$47/month or $470/year100,000Every 30 minutes
Unlimited$97/month or $970/yearUnlimitedEvery 5 minutes
VIP (incl. VIP Platinum)Not publishedUnlimitedUp to every second

Where Open Exchange Rates is a better fit

No API suits every project. Based on Open Exchange Rates’s published plans, it is the stronger choice if:

  • You need unlimited requests at a fixed price. The Unlimited plan is $97 a month with 5-minute updates.
  • You need bid-ask prices, OHLC or intraday history, or a guaranteed uptime SLA. VIP tiers offer them.
  • You want history on a free plan. Its free plan includes daily historical data, and the archive goes back to 1999. Rate-API’s history starts at Pro.
  • You rely on its ecosystem of libraries and plugins, such as money.js and accounting.js.
  • You need unofficial, black-market or digital rates. show_alternative (in beta) is open to all clients.
  • You want a soft quota. It says you won’t be blocked or charged extra for slightly exceeding your monthly limit.
  • You want 30-minute updates on 100,000 requests (Enterprise, $47 a month).

Why teams switch to Rate-API

What Rate-API offers, taken from its live plans and API code:

  • Base currency switching on the free plan, with 2,500 requests a month. Open Exchange Rates’ free plan is fixed to USD, with 1,000 requests.
  • Commercial use on every plan. Rate-API’s terms let you use the data inside your own product on Free too. Open Exchange Rates’ FAQ asks commercial apps to use a paid account.
  • Amount conversion from Pro ($10/month for 40,000 requests a month). Open Exchange Rates offers /convert on Unlimited only.
  • Longer ranges in one call: /timeseries covers up to 366 days and /fluctuation returns each currency’s change, on Business and Enterprise. Open Exchange Rates’ time-series requests cover up to one month, on Enterprise and Unlimited.
  • XML and CSV as well as JSON, chosen per request with ?format=.
  • Send the key in the URL path, as Authorization: Bearer, or as an X-API-Key header.
  • Rate alerts and HMAC-signed outbound webhooks on Business and up. Open Exchange Rates’ free plan is pull-only.
  • Official PHP, JavaScript and Python SDKs, an MCP server for AI assistants, and OpenAPI 3.0 and 2.0 specs.

Moving from Open Exchange Rates to Rate-API

  1. 1. Create a free account and copy your API key from the dashboard.
  2. 2. Swap each request for its Rate-API equivalent below.
  3. 3. Check the notes under the table for parameters and fields that differ.
TaskOpen Exchange RatesRate-API
Latest ratesGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/latest.json?app_id=YOUR_APP_ID&symbols=EUR,GBPGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/latest?base=USD&symbols=EUR,GBP
A past datePro and upGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/historical/2024-01-15.json?app_id=YOUR_APP_IDGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/historical?date=2024-01-15&base=USD
A date rangeBusiness and EnterpriseGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/time-series.json?app_id=YOUR_APP_ID&start=2024-01-01&end=2024-01-31&symbols=EUR,GBPGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/timeseries?start_date=2024-01-01&end_date=2024-01-31&base=USD&symbols=EUR,GBP
Convert an amountPro and upGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/convert/100/USD/EUR?app_id=YOUR_APP_IDGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/convert?from=USD&to=EUR&amount=100
Supported currenciesGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/currencies.jsonGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/currencies
Quota usedGET https://openexchangerates.org/api/usage.json?app_id=YOUR_APP_IDGET https://rate-api.com/api/v1/YOUR_KEY/usage
  • Authorization: Token YOUR_APP_ID becomes Authorization: Bearer YOUR_KEY, or put the key in the path.
  • The symbols parameter keeps its name. Rate-API accepts it on every plan, Free included.
  • For time-series.json, start and end become start_date and end_date, and the rates object keeps its shape: keyed by date, then currency code. One call covers up to 366 days.
  • Rate-API’s rates object is keyed by currency code and leaves out the base currency itself.

Notes on Open Exchange Rates’s figures

Where Open Exchange Rates’s pages disagree with each other or leave a point open:

  • Update speeds conflict: the FAQ says all plans update hourly except Unlimited (every 10 minutes), while the pricing and sign-up pages say Enterprise is 30-minute and Unlimited 5-minute. This page uses the pricing and sign-up values.
  • The site says “over 200” currencies, but no official page gives an exact count of 200 or more; see the currencies.json figures above.
  • How far back free-plan history reaches is not stated. 1 January 1999 is the general figure in its docs.
  • HTTPS is stated for the API as a whole, not per plan.
  • VIP pricing is not published, and VIP update speed is stated only as “up to every 1 second”.
  • Payment methods differ between the FAQ (PayPal) and the sign-up pages (cards; the Unlimited page also lists PayPal, bank transfer and Bitcoin).
  • Several docs pages were last updated in June 2025, so some plan notes there may trail the pricing page.

Facts checked on 23 September 2026

Every Open Exchange Rates figure on this page comes from its own website and documentation, read on 23 September 2026. Plans and prices change, so check the sources below before you decide. Open Exchange Rates is operated by Open Exchange Rates (UK) Limited, registered in England and Wales. Rate-API’s figures come from its live plans and API code.

Official Open Exchange Rates sources (21)

Open Exchange Rates is a trademark of its owner; this page is not affiliated with it. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.

Try Rate-API free

Create an account and get a key in a minute. The Free plan needs no card.

Get a free API key

Other comparisons